The Royal Philatelic Society London

41 Devonshire Place, London W1G 6JY

Tel: 020 7486 1044 Web site: www.rpsl.org.uk Fax: 020 7486 0803 Email: secretary@rpsl.org.uk



PRESS RELEASE

Notable achievements recognised by Royal

The Royal Philatelic Society London has presented its annual medals to acknowledge notable achievements.

There are three recipients of *The Royal Philatelic Society London Medal* for outstanding service to the Society, namely Brian Birch, Philip Robinson and Maggie Thompson.

The Tilleard Medal for the best afternoon display given to the Society is awarded to Gustaf Douglas for 'Classic Sweden'.

The Lee Medal for the best presentation given to the Society goes to Richard Stock for 'Sudan: The Development of Postal Communications 1845-1928'.

The Tapling Medal for best paper published in The London Philatelist goes to Francis Podger for 'Singapore: The Use and Development of Revenue Impressed Stamps' published in the November 2012 and September 2013 editions.

The Crawford Medal for the most valuable and original contribution to the study and knowledge of philately published in book form is awarded to Peter Van der Molen for Swaziland Philately to 1968.



Recipients of medals awarded by The Royal Philatelic Society London (left to right): Maggie Thompson, Chris Harman, Philip Robinson, Brian Birch, Francis Podger, Gustaf Douglas, Peter Van de Molen, Richard Stock, Vincent Schouberechts and Wolfgang Maassen

A Special Award was made to Wolfgang Maassen and Vincent Schouberechts for the publication of *Milestones of the Philatelic Literature of the 19th Century*. This award is to commemorate the centenary of the death of James Ludvic Lindsay, 26th Earl of Crawford.

In addition, Chris Harman has been made an Honorary Fellow of the Society.